When can I discharge fireworks?

The discharge of permissible fireworks, as defined by SDCL 34-37-5, and according to City Ordinance #506, is only allowed July 2nd through July 5th from 10:00 am to 11:00 pm each day and also on December 31st from 10:00 pm until 12:00 am on January 1st.

The City Council reserves the right to ban the use of all fireworks on July 4th in the event of dry climatic conditions or other emergencies.

SDCL 34-37-5.  Permissible fireworks enumerated and described.  Permissible fireworks are consumer fireworks as enumerated in Chapter 3 of the American Pyrotechnics Association Inc., Standard 87-1, 1993 edition and that comply with labeling regulations promulgated by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CRF Title 16 - Commercial Practices Part 1507), effective January 1, 1998.